Alan Dean Fosters Pip and Flix Series

Pip and Flinx (Bold and * == owned)

In chronological order. Note that Foster says in the recently republished Bloodhype that it is the 11th in the series, and should fall between Running from the Deity and Trouble Magnet. (Bloodhype foreword, Del Rey, March, 2002).

  1. For Love of Mother-Not (1983) ISBN 0-345-30511-6*
  2. The Tar-Aiym Krang (1972) ISBN 0-345-29232-4*
  3. Orphan Star (1977) ISBN 0-345-25507-0
  4. The End of the Matter (1977) ISBN 0-345-25861-4* (has stukki(sp) from Icerigger)
  5. Flinx in Flux (1988) ISBN 0-345-34363-8*
  6. Mid-Flinx (1995) ISBN 0-345-38374-5*
  7. Reunion (2001) ISBN 0-345-41867-0
  8. Flinx’s Folly (2003) ISBN 0-345-45038-8
  9. Sliding Scales (2004) ISBN 0-345-46156-8
  10. Running from the Deity (2005) ISBN 0-345-46159-2
  11. Bloodhype (1973) ISBN 0-345-25845-2
  12. Trouble Magnet (2006) ISBN 0-345-48504-1
  13. Patrimony (2007) ISBN 978-0-345-48507-6
  14. Flinx Transcendent (2009) ISBN 978-0-345-49607-2

Eric Flint 1632 Series



  1. 1632
  2. 1633
  3. 1634: The Bavarian Crisis
  4. 1634: The Ram Rebellion




Once also known on the internet as the 163x series, Baen for a time called the Ring of Fire series, and it is as frequently called the 1632 Universe or 1632verse; however it is named, it is a best-selling success. The alternate history series starts when the inhabitants of a small town in the United States find themselves transported back to Central Germany … in the late spring (May) of 1631 with no way back. The first book title results because while the tale builds in 1631, the climax occurs when events in the Thirty Years’ War nearly overrun the town in 1632.

The Grantville Gazettes began as an experimental (eMagazine) collated as an anthology featuring primarily fan fiction and non-fiction background essays similar to encyclopedia articles. These fact articles, which include reference sections, were developed by the various sub-committees of the very informal 1632 Research Committee and the input (feedback and criticisms) received on the internet web-forum 1632 Tech Manual which is part of Baen’s Bar. These essays and the feedback were pertinent to the developing milieu along with input from other established authors—a massive case of collaborative fiction writing—the foundation for which was in turn in part being developed on Baen’s Bar by those same fans commenting, manning the committees, doing research much like contributing to a wiki, and then submitting the results to Peer review and criticism on 1632 Comments or 1632 Tech Manual. This is an ongoing process, as is the mining of said research and the primarily fan writing which is still ongoing.
The self-funding eMagazine Gazettes were edited by Eric Flint up through issue six (VI), who along and a volunteer Editorial Board, many who have been assisting him closely in designing the development of the milieu, building and running the canonical website and the many research topics leading to decisions within the whole collaboration. While now using his assistant and direct employee Paula Goodlett as an assistant editor, Flint retains full editorial control of the 1632 milieu and all its intellectual property rights.
The Grantville Gazette anthologies are also published by Baen, beginning with an initial publication as a serialized eMagazine over three months, followed by an e-book release (downloadable in various electronic formats) at, but a mass market trade paperback edition of the first issue was published as an experiment in November 2004. The first printing sold out, and reprintings followed. The second issue was released in a Hardcover Edition in early March 2006, and also sold well. Beginning with Issue 11 the Grantville Gazette has gone pro. It did go to a bimonthly schedule starting at May 1st 2007 and pays pro rates.
  • Grantville Gazette I, Issue 1 (Electronic edition Nov 2003, paper edition November 2004, both published under the title The Grantville Gazette)
  • Grantville Gazette II, Issue 2 (Electronic edition Mar 2004, hardcover edition March 2006)
  • Grantville Gazette III, Issue 3 (Electronic edition October 2004, hardcover edition January 2007)
  • Grantville Gazette IV, Issue 4 (Electronic edition mid April 2005, hardcover edition June 2008)
  • Grantville Gazette V, Issue 5 (Electronic edition August 2005, hardcover edition August 2009)
  • Grantville Gazette VI, Issue 6 (Electronic edition March 2006)
  • Grantville Gazette VII, Issue 7 (Electronic edition April 2006)
  • Grantville Gazette VIII, Issue 8 (Electronic edition July 2006)
  • Grantville Gazette IX, Issue 9 (Electronic edition September 2006)
  • Grantville Gazette X, Issue 10 (Electronic edition December 2006)
  • Grantville Gazette XI, Issue 11 (Electronic edition May 2007)
  • Grantville Gazette XII, Issue 12 (Electronic edition July 2007)
  • Grantville Gazette XIII, Issue 13 (Electronic edition September 2007)
As of June 2014, the bimonthly schedule is still going on and the last published is Grantville Gazette 53 (Electronic edition May 2014).

James White – Sector General

note: that i remember, bold == owned

These were also published as omnibus editions:

  • Beginning Operations (2001) contains Hospital Station, Star Surgeon and Major Operation
  • Alien Emergencies (2002) contains Ambulance Ship, Sector General and Star Healer.
  • General Practice (2003) contains Code Blue – Emergency and The Genocidal Healer.
  • Tales of Sector General (1999) contains The Galactic Gourmet, Final Diagnosis, and Mind Changer.

David Webers Safehold series

The Safehold series:

The series is mostly set around the 31st century, on a distant world dubbed “Safehold” where a group of humans has hidden themselves from an alien race known as the Gbaba. When first contact was made between the humans and the Gbaba, the aliens began an extermination campaign which nearly succeeded in destroying all known humans in the galaxy, including the entire population of Earth. The humans on Safehold managed to avoid detection by reverting to a pre-electrical and pre-industrial technology base and incorporating that into a religious belief system which discouraged scientific curiosity and forbade any higher technology on penalty of death.

Every book after the first one has a name taken from a hymn.

  1. Off Armageddon Reef (January 2007) ISBN 978-0-7653-1500-7
  2. By Schism Rent Asunder (July 2008) ISBN 978-0-7653-1501-4
  3. By Heresies Distressed (June 2009) ISBN 978-0-7653-1503-8
  4. A Mighty Fortress (April 2010) ISBN 978-0-7653-1505-2
  5. How Firm a Foundation (September 2011) ISBN 978-0-7653-2154-1
  6. Midst Toil and Tribulation(September 2012) ISBN 978-0-7653-2155-8
  7. Like a Mighty Army (February 18, 2014) ISBN 978-0-7653-2156-5
  8. Hell’s Foundations Quiver (October 6, 2015) ISBN 978-0-7653-2187-9

Bold == Owned